MSD History

The Metropolitan Sewerage District (MSD) is located in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. A public agency was created and established in 1962 by the North Carolina State Stream Sanitation Committee for the purpose of constructing and operating facilities for the treatment and disposal of the sewage generated by the political subdivisions comprising the District. MSD is a non-profit, publicly-owned utility.

The District owns, operates and maintains a 40 million gallon per day (MGD) wastewater treatment plant to treat raw sewage and industrial wastewaters collected in an extensive network (approximately 1100 miles) of collector sewers currently owned, operated and maintained by the District pursuant to the consolidation agreements signed on July 2, 1990. The District also owns, operates and maintains approximately 60 miles of interceptor sewers that connect such sewers to the treatment plant.

MSD Structure

The MSD is a public body organized under the provisions of the North Carolina Metropolitan Sewerage Districts Act, being Article 5, Chapter 162A of the General Statutes of North Carolina, as amended. The District is comprised of the following political subdivisions located within Buncombe County:

    City of Asheville
    Town of Montreat
    Beaverdam Water & Sewer District
    Enka-Candler Water & Sewer District
    Town of Biltmore Forest
    Fairview Sanitary Sewer District
    Town of Black Mountain
    Skyland Sanitary Sewer District
    Busbee Sanitary Sewer District
    Swannanoa Water & Sewer District
    Caney Valley Sanitary Sewer District
    Woodfin Sanitary Water & Sewer District
    Crescent Hill Sanitary Sewer District
    Town of Weaverville
    Venable Sanitary District
    Town of Woodfin
    Cane Creek Water and Sewer District

The governing board (District Board) has a strategic plan for the future of the MSD and the budgetary process incorporates management by objectives. The District's management team and employees carry out the goals and objectives and policies as set by the District Board. The budget process provides the tool to translate planning objectives into work objectives on an annual basis.

The District Board consists of fourteen (14) members. Three from the County of Buncombe, three from the City of Asheville, two from Henderson County, one from Woodfin Sanitary Water & Sewer District, and one each from the Towns of Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, Montreat, Weaverville and Woodfin.